What do you want to be when you grow up?

As we were young, we were always asked the question, “What do you want to be when you grow up?” From what I could recall, I really didn’t know what the hell I wanted to be. My answer would be something generic like doctor, teacher, or [fill in seemingly cool job here]. It is a simple question with complex answers. There’s so many possibilities. I was aware I was young, and I didn’t want to worry about how to answer that when it really mattered.

Flash forward 2 decades and a million different jobs later, I’m left feeling a strong sense of inadequacy and aimlessness. I’m 26 years old without a career, let alone financial security. I mean, I’ve had a few full time jobs here and there, but it was definitely not what I was passionate about. Every time I was constrained to a desk under fluorescent light for 8 hours a day, I could sense my creative soul dying in slow motion. I was depressed. It was always when I worked these god-forsaken 9-5 jobs that I was at my low point.

Every time I was constrained to a desk under fluorescent light for 8 hours a day, I could sense my creative soul dying in slow motion.

When I lost my most recent full time job, it was a blessing in disguise. It freed me from the drone that I was for the past 9 months. The consistent income was no longer there, but I am at least not entitled to robot-mode the same time, everyday, Monday through Friday.

By1jcywIMAEHN2Q.jpg-large
Via Twitter. My dreams/aspirations from last year October 2014.

I was able to catch up on where I left on in my goals to be a writer. Whether or not I get published or capitalize in a winner-take-all market, I will still do it because it is what I am genuinely passionate about. I am intrinsically motivated to share my stories. I’m not here to shove my stories in everyone’s faces (although it be nice to have an audience). I make it my goal to inspire others, and to just be a part of a community online.

If you’re a full-grown adult right now, are you currently living the person you wanted to be when you grow up? Are you satisfied with your life right now, or do you wish you’d be in a better place than where you are now?

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “What do you want to be when you grow up?

  1. Hey there, I found your blog through Opinionated Man’s blog. Having a career nowadays is really difficult, also when you’ve found a job you like I think. But having a job you don’t really like feels awful, I can relate to that, but that’s all the more reason why you shouldn’t give up on the things you’re passionate about. Nobody can take them away from you – except yourself 😉

    Like

  2. Reading this post makes me realize that the emphasis on what we do instead of who we are is in place since we are children. It’s no wonder we hold so much value on what we do versus who we are. To answer your question, I thought I was going to be a superstar, cartoonist and chef and uh…let’s just say I am not any of those things. lol However, I have been more at peace with where I am, even if it wasn’t what I pictured growing up because it’s exactly where I’m supposed to be or else, I wouldn’t be here. 🙂

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on Pain – Passion – Purpose (P3) and commented:
    “I make it my goal to inspire others, and to just be a part of a community online.” I really relate to this statement because that is what draws me to blogging. The notion of being light in a dark world and having a reach as far as the blogosphere can take me is amazing. This post asks the questions about being full-grown and in the place where I am now. Well, at fifty plus in age, I feel as though I am just becoming full grown because I am finally living out my passions. The struggle is over. My age and wisdom is kicking in and I am FREE for the first time in many years (of course there is much that contributes to this feeling). Right now, as a middle school teacher, I am in my BEST place – it feels wonderful (although, not without struggle). I am growing everyday and pleased with the contributions I am able to make on a daily basis.

    Like

  4. When I was 8 I decided I wanted to be a zoologist. When I was 26 and held my degree certificate in my hand, I realised I didn’t want to be a zoologist. Do’h! Eventually I worked out that all along my heart was with writing and creating but I always thought they weren’t real jobs. But at 26 I started pursuing writing and loving it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

