Considering Law School

There hLaptop in classic libraryave been a lot of people who told me to consider going to law school. I believe it may be due to my demeanor, analytical thinking and relentless need to resolve problems. Maybe that’s why. I never pictured myself as an attorney growing up, but after putting much thought into it, it doesn’t seem like a bad idea. There’s one major problem: Law School is becoming more of a financial investment rather than professional. I don’t have $150K lying around my house, so this decision shouldn’t be taken lightly.

I don’t know if deciding to apply for law school is a side effect of my quarter-life crisis (I’m 25 now) or what I honestly want to pursue, but I always wind up to the same reasoning:

A law degree only takes 3 years to obtain. Amid the financial constraints, it is a great investment considering the prestige the degree has. It’s not just the degree itself that’s valuable — it’s the fundamental skills that is required to achieve it: critical thinking, analytical, reading, writing, communication, among others. All those skills are vital, whether it’s in the legal industry or not. A law degree is versatile. Even if an employer isn’t looking specifically for someone with a law background, it still let’s the candidate to stand out. Statistics don’t tell the whole story. A law degree says everything. Regardless of the outcome of what a law degree will provide, at least it can serve as an intrinsic reward letting the recipient know they have made a significant accomplishment not everyone can achieve.

As ludicrous as this may sound, I want to go to law school, but I don’t necessarily want to practice. Like I said above, it’s the skills I’m attracted to. Although there are more feasible methods to acquire those skills, I want to undergo the discipline and the painstaking journey in the controlled environment law school provides. I believe it’s the best way to learn.

There’s unlimited things I want to do in my life. I still want to pursue a writing career, but I have to keep reminding myself that I’m still young (according to older people, obviously), and that I should not overthink the logistics of where I’ll be in the x amount of years to come. I recently got hired to work full time at a firm relevant to the legal industry, so I will utilize this experience to grow professionally and personally, as well.

 

Photo source: USLegal.com

Leave a Reply

