Why I Actually Want To Be Single

Having experienced breakup after breakup in recent years, I’ve realized that it’s finally time to slow down and take a break. I’m in the midst of experiencing a “quarter-life crisis” and the last thing I need to worry about is another person’s life while trying to focus on my own goals. Relationships are time-consuming. It requires a great amount of determination and commitment – more than my 20-something self can handle. All a relationship would do is slow me down, as I start to feel obligated to make compromises. It’s just not the right time for me.

I know many young couples who are in committed relationships. I hear them talk about planning a wedding, having kids, and a healthy future. Sure, what they have at that moment is beautiful — a flower is beautiful too. But a flower can only live for so long before its blooming season ends and it wilts away.

Take this from a nerdy, scientific perspective: We are made of stardust. Our chemical compositions are not significantly different than anything else on Earth — just like that flower. We’re constantly changing and reacting, and nothing is meant to last forever. Nothing. Just like a flower that dies and is born again next spring, we undergo the pain of a breakup and eventually move on to someone new. What makes us different is that we happen to have consciousness.

Let me just state for the record that I can be pretty cynical about relationships in general. The primary rule of relationships is to never take your significant other for granted. Ever. They have their own life too, you know? Wouldn’t it be pretty selfish to have them asyour one and only? You can make an effort if things look bleak, but try to deviate from that delusional love phase and see your relationships from a realistic perspective. Lovey-doveyHollywood romance movies are the big culprit, giving people ridiculously high expectations.

This point of view is not meant to disregard the benefits of being in a relationship. It’s meant to simply protect you from what may inevitably become the end. What else do you take for granted? Eyesight, hearing, your functional thumbs or legs? Appreciate it while you have them. I’m not highly against relationships, but I just know that I would not be emotionally present at this time. Despite my cynical views, I am a firm believer enjoying the moment you’re in because you never know what may happen. The beautiful moments in life are not forever, so appreciate and love them while they last.

TheElizabethian

Having experienced breakup after breakup in recent years, I’ve realized that it’s finally time to slow down and take a break. I’m in the midst of experiencing a “quarter-life crisis” and the last thing I need to worry about is another person’s life while trying to focus on my own goals. Relationships are time-consuming. It requires a great amount of determination and commitment – more than my 20-something self can handle. All a relationship would do is slow me down, as I start to feel obligated to make compromises. It’s just not the right time for me.

I know many young couples who are in committed relationships. I hear them talk about planning a wedding, having kids, and a healthy future. Sure, what they have at that moment is beautiful — a flower is beautiful too. But a flower can only live for so long before its blooming season ends and it wilts away.

View original post 268 more words

Leave a Reply

