Shit Aspring Writers Don’t Want to Hear

Opportunities-for-Writers-June-and-July-2013

Not many people in my life are very fond of the idea that I want to become a writer or journalist. They are skeptical and passively aggressively note that I will fail. Like someone saying, “I want to move to Hollywood to become a movie star,” you never know, as fervently as that may sound. Maybe it’s good to have these naysayers in my life just to motivate me to prove them wrong. Since I’ve never been so passionate about anything else in my life, I find myself easily offended. One moment I am ambitious, and instantaneously, then they attack me with their know-it-all analysis.

Their statements (the “shit”) include, but not limited to:

  • You need a journalism degree
  • You need a law degree
  • You need a vast a mount of internships
  • You’re blog is not enough to provide you credit
  • It’s a risky business
  • You won’t make a lot of money
  • There are a lot of people who have more experience than you
  • You will suffer in New York City
  • Do you really think you’re that good?
  • You’re joking, right?

Although some of these are valid statements, it’s enough to tempt me to reconsider my passion. That scares me, tremendously. This world is just deprived of positive individuals, or maybe I just haven’t discovered them yet. I have a bad mixture of doubtful and encouraging people because the latter hardly exist. Hopefully, what I can achieve through this online community is a level of support and encouragement. I can’t allow another soul to tell me I’m doing it wrong. What I need to do now is persevere. Writing is my passion, and how can someone else say otherwise? I am more than aware of the obstacles and cutthroat industry writing is, and I also can’t blind myself from the reality of it all. Trust me, I know how brutal it can be.

i-am-a-writer

 

Shortly after graduating with a bachelor of science in psychology, I considered applying to graduate school to earn my master’s in neuroscience. One of the main criterions for applying is to have research experience. Okay. I applied to work in research labs, but only rejections came as a result — more specifically, lack of rejections, which left me hanging. A humorous 1 rejection out of 50+ applications contaminated my inbox that “regret to inform” me that other candidates were selected, let alone other miscellaneous jobs that people, who don’t have my level of credentials, achieved. Sorry, that may be unnecessary to mention, but I find it incredibly unfair for someone in tens of thousands of dollars in student loan debt to lose a career battle over someone who did not go to school.

This was the beginning of my quarter-life crisis.

1288805110026_107242

I was frustrated that I, apparently, could not survive in the real world outside of working my menial job. The money in my bank account stayed relatively the same for the last 9 years and I pretty much lost all hope. I then decided to do something crazy – the stuff people don’t normally consider as a profession: Writing. I know risk is greatly involved, but the thing that coincides with this risk is passion. Because I’m not perfect, I know I need to improve some aspects of my writing as well. Writing is what I do on a regular basis, regardless of how I’m feeling. In addition to having it as my free therapy, I really enjoy sharing what’s going on in the world and my ideas out in the open.

Whether these naysayers are right or wrong, at least I am doing what I love. No doubt about it.

Photo source: Someecards

6 thoughts on “Shit Aspring Writers Don’t Want to Hear

Leave a Reply

