Switching Gears to New York City

“Enter every activity without giving mental recognition to the possibility of defeat. Concentrate on your strengths, instead of your weakness…on your powers, instead of your problems.” – Paul J. Meyer.

 

It happened a few weeks ago right when I had that “aha” moment – the moment when I almost nearly cried to myself after discovering what I always loved. As I analyzed my current situation vs. what I wanted to pursue, what’s the worst that could happen if I move to NYC?

New-York-City

Barring the high risk of becoming homeless, there really is nothing to worry about. I could always move back to Texas in the worst-case scenario, which I don’t even want to consider. New York City is the greatest city in the world – full of energy, diverse culture, arts, food, shows, and constant viewing pleasure from the skyline to the lively parks. And you know what’s crazy? I never even stepped foot in the city.

I am more than happy to admit that I am crazy – crazy enough to do something spontaneous, life changing, and exciting. This act will surely be a transformation to become more than just a post-grad working a part-time job. I don’t even want to work a lifeless, dead-end job, confined in a cubicle doing the dull routine from 9 in the morning to 5 in the evening – put that schedule on repeat Monday thru Friday almost every week until you retire…or die in the process.

Doesn’t that sound like the most amazing job ever!? Anyone who has worked a job similar to that has lived life at its fullest and made astonishing self-fulfilling contributions. Is that true?

Surely, it is subject to an individual’s opinion, but I envision a world far greater than working a job fit for a robot.

There has to be more out there. After living a sheltered upbringing, I am craving for stimulation for what is out there. I know there’s more. And I am willing to respond to potential punches in the face while I’m exploring the new life.

I am aware of all the negative aspects of living in the jungle. Honestly, every place has its negative. Take a look at the quote I inserted in the beginning. Meditate on it. Dream. Aspire.

Leave a Reply

